Budget Warhammer Empire Project – Marienburg Painting Guide

Part 1 – Introduction & Missile Infantry
Part 2 – Melee Infantry
Part 3 – Cavalry
Part 4 – Leaders & Special Characters
Part 5 – Artillery & Misc.
Part 6 – Using Discontinued Empire Units in AoS
Part 7 – How it Looks
Part 8 – Marienburg Painting Guide
Budget Bretonnia Project

When I started thinking about my budget Empire army, inspired by my time playing Total War: Warhammer, I wanted to create a retro army, but also paint it in a largely retro style inspired by Games Workshop’s red period. I spent some time looking at the Uniforms and Heraldry of the Empire book, as well as pictures from old Games Workshop catalogs and White Dwarfs before settling on a paint scheme inspired by the colors of Marienburg, the wealthy trade hub in the far west of the Empire. Marienburg uniforms feature a lot of primary colors; red, blue, and yellow, as well as whites, so this will make for a very colorful and bright look. Here’s how they came out.

Every figure has all four of the main colors somewhere on the figure (a few minis have a color hiding on their shirt in the back). To save time, I think I will try my next unit with less yellow, saving it for accents and accessories. This will let me use the Dark Tone Wash on much more of the miniature without having to be careful about getting the black wash on the yellow (does not come out well).

In addition, my current method of painting white (see below) is also very labor intensive and I’m not 100% happy with it. I’m going to test out the new contrast paint, Apothecary White, on my next set of models, with some pure white highlights as well.

Painting Guide

EquipmentBase ColorWashHighlight 1Highlight 2
Blue UniformDark BlueDark ToneDark BlueCrystal Blue
Red UniformPure RedDark TonePure RedScarlet
White UniformSpaceship ExteriorDark ToneSpaceship ExteriorMatt White
Yellow UniformDaemonic YellowStrong ToneDaemonic YellowDaemonic Yellow/Moon Dust
SkinBarbarian FleshFlesh ToneBarbarian FleshBarbarian Flesh/Basic Skin Tone
HairMonster BrownFlesh ToneMonster Brown
LeatherLeather BrownDark ToneMonster Brown
Boots/BracersNecromancer CloakDark ToneUniform Grey
MetalPlate MetalDark ToneShining Silver
BaseGoblin GreenGoblin Green/Daemonic Yellow (drybrush)

Color Matching Key

PaintManufacturerColor to Match
Dark BlueVallejo Model ColorDark/Medium Blue
Crystal BlueArmy PainterMedium/Light Blue
Pure RedArmy PainterMedium Red
ScarletVallejo Model ColorRed/Orange
Spaceship ExteriorArmy PainterVery Light Grey
Matt WhiteArmy PainterPure White
Daemonic YellowArmy PainterYellow
Moon DustArmy PainterLight Yellow
Monster BrownArmy PainterLight Brown
Leather BrownArmy PainterMedium Brown
Necromancer CloakArmy PainterVery Dark Grey
Uniform GreyArmy PainterMedium/Dark Grey
Plate MetalArmy PainterSteel
Shining SilverArmy PainterSilver
Goblin GreenArmy PainterMedium/Light Green
Dark ToneArmy PainterBlack wash
Flesh ToneArmy PainterReddish/brown wash
Strong ToneArmy PainterBrown wash

Final Thoughts

I’ve really enjoyed writing this guide to creating a budget Empire army, but this time it really is the end. I still have my budget Bretonnia posts in the works and will start posting them next week. I’ll also make updates as I finish building the non-infantry models in my own Empire army and continue to paint them. Hope everyone enjoyed this, and good luck with your own projects!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started